top of page

I'm About To Graduate And Have No Clue What I'm Going To Do.

As a rising senior in college, the thought of the “real world” is seeming more realistic by the day, and after a recent vacation to Washington, D.C. I found myself pondering even more about what is the next step. Seeing all these people in suits looking like they’re doing or headed somewhere important left me wanting to feel the same way. Or maybe I just want to look old as opposed to get old. There was just a lively vibe in that city that really resonated with me and left me wanting more.

So now here I am, trying to answer a question I’m sure many of my peers are trying to come up with an answer to as well. I am headed into my final year of college and really don’t know what I’m going to do upon graduation. I mean, I barely know what I’m doing next week. Right now from where I stand, I want to do a lot. I have a passion for sports and would love to enter into that field, but I also look at government and think that would be an exciting route. At the same time, part of me wants to start something and build it up so I can truly make my mark. In my mind I’m being pulled so many different directions, with so many different ambitions. Not only are goals for what field I want to work in quite spread out, the path in which I get there is also blurry. Is getting a master’s degree the best move or is jumping straight into the job field the best thing?

As you can tell, the only thing set in stone for me is that I will be graduating undergrad next May, and then from that point I really have no clue. I have tried to come up with a method in which would help lead me down the best path, and I want to share what I’ve come up with so far. Still being a year out from possibly entering the real world, I have some time to decide what it is that I want from my life and career. While these values and goals will inevitably change over time and age, all I can do is look at what I want right now.

For me, when it comes to a career, I, like many people want a job that will be fun and engaging to go to everyday. I’m not naive, I know work isn’t always fun, that is definitely one thing college athletics has taught me. But none the less I want to do something I can enjoy and be proud of. The other pretty basic ideal I have is to do something that makes an actual impact on people, and hopefully the world in a positive manner. Doing a job strictly for monetary means isn’t worth it, with our relationships being the most valuable thing we have, a career where I can create and build powerful bonds is extremely desirable. Last but not least, flexibility. While that trait is never a given it is something to work towards.

Now that I have in my mind what I desire, I have to try and answer how I can achieve these things. From where I am right now, the best thing I can do is to seek out and create as many opportunities as possible. If I create an abundance of opportunities, I will be giving myself a chance to decide on what the best path is for me rather than be forced down a road I may not be totally confident in. While I still may not be sure what exactly I want to work in for the long haul, I will be able to assess all my options and see how they line up with my desires for a career. Nothing is ever set in stone, so it’s best not to overly stress about making sure you figure it out by the end of college. I have no intentions of being stuck on a one-way road, but I do intend to create as many roads as possible so I can choose the best route at the time.

For my parting words and advice, take your time and figure out what you want out of your career. That’s the only thing that can help you make sense of this process. And chill out, this thing called life really does a good job at taking your plans and shaking them all up and then somehow getting you where you trying to go the whole time. I know the unknown is scary, I’m feeling the heat as well, but you have to trust that what you’re doing right now will put you in the best possible position for tomorrow. Most of all enjoy your time in college because this ride comes and goes, and remember to grow yourself and your skill set everyday.

I hope my way of looking at it helped you in some form or another.

“You can’t figure out how to get where you want to go if you don’t know where you’re at.”

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page